YAC West Tamar and Youth Mayor

Shaping the future

Who are YAC?

The Youth Advisory Council of the West Tamar is a coordinated group that represents local young people with a real and authentic voice, whilst influencing the future of the West Tamar. Their creative strategies to engage the community mean that the group is at the heartbeat of the life of a young person in the West Tamar.

What does YAC do?

Regular meetings

Raising youth related issues

Organising youth events and activities

Facilitate the Lead, Inspire, Grow youth leadership camp

Pitch Your Project for student leaders

Advocate for young people

Engage with the community

Collaborate with the Youth Mayor


Who can join?

Young people aged 12-25 are welcome to enquire about connecting with YAC West Tamar.

You don't need to be an existing student leader or have an established position within the community. If you have energy and commitment to your community or even have some ideas about how Council can make the West Tamar a better place for young people, we want to hear from you.

Young people's opinions are important for the development of our community.

YAC Meetings

All meetings are held at Windsor Community Precinct, Riverside, from 4:00 to 5:15 pm

(Members are welcome to arrive from 3:15pm. A bus is made available to transport YAC members home following the meeting.)

Meetings are chaired and recorded with representation for Council including 3 local Councillors in attendance. Meeting notes are presented to Council each month for review and consideration.

For further information about YAC West Tamar, please contact andrew.beeston@wtc.tas.gov.au

Thurs 11th February
Thurs 11th March

Thurs 8th April
Thurs 13th May

Thurs 10th June
Thurs 8th July

Thurs 12th August
Thurs 9th September

Thurs 14th October
Thurs 11th November (Annual Review)

Thurs 9th December (party!)

Kim, YAC, Sharni
YAC 2020
Claire
IMG 0213
x